Skip navigation

We’ve launched our Expert Advisory Panel - read more about the Innovation Agenda here.

CAPR Presents Award of Distinction 2018


Dianne Millette (R)

At the 2018 Annual General Meeting, CAPR presented its highest honour, the Award of Distinction, to Joyce Vogelgesang and Dianne Millette for their ground-breaking work advancing public protection and physiotherapy regulation across the country. Dianne Millette has served as the Registrar in three separate juris­dictions across Canada. Joyce Vogelgesang is the Deputy Registrar for Physiotherapy Alberta. Both, through their work with CAPR’s Registrars Committee, have made significant contributions to the cross-Canada harmonization of regulatory policy and resources in recent years.

Pan-Canadian regulatory projects

Between the two of them, they have led major projects such as a single regulatory Code of Ethical Conduct, Core Standards of Prac­tice for Physiotherapists in Canada, national decision-making guide­lines for Good Character, a Memorandum of Understanding and regulatory guidelines for the delivery of cross-border physiotherapy services and a review and recommendations regarding the align­ment of registration practices across the country. The value of this work – for regulators, for physiotherapists and for physiotherapy candidates – cannot be over-stated.

Joyce Vogelgesang

And more innovation

Dianne and Joyce have been instrumental to the data analysis work in Alberta and now in British Columbia relating to identifying regula­tory risk and protective factors for physiotherapy practice. Addition­ally, the Physiotherapy Alberta Physiotherapist Knowledge Self-assessment Tool has garnered unprecedented interest among inter­nationally-educated physiotherapy candidates.

Dianne is a visionary whose ideas outpace our ability to keep up with her. Partnered with Joyce’s clear-eyed analysis and relentless work ethic great things have happened. Congratulations Dianne and Joyce!